About to Start Final Fantasy 9

I have ePSXE download (PlayStation 1 Emulator) and my Final Fantasy 9 ISO downloaded and I plan to dive into Final Fantasy 9 real soon. Before you guys tell me that pirating is wrong and evil, HOLD YOUR horses, as I OWN a genuine copy of Final Fantasy 9. I own a genuine copy of all the Final Fantasy games I’ve ever played. I just prefer playing them on the emulator over the actual PlayStation console. Mostly due to the fact that Final Fantasy 9 looks gorgeous on my PC compared to the console. Forced anti-aliasing and a higher resolution makes the game look quite crisp. Sure it’s not Final Fantasy 13, but Final Fantasy 9 is a game I never really ‘finished’. I started it as a kid and only got half way through before shelf’ing it.

I decided to give them the game another try now, as I recently quit playing Atlantica Online – a free MMORPG with turn based combat. I actually played a bunch of random free to play MMORPGs over the last few weeks, including games like Runes of Magic, Dungeons and Dragons Online and even Emil Chronicle Online, but I couldn’t really ‘get’ into any of these games, so I quit them all together. I have a lot of free time so I figured i’d give Final Fantasy 9 another chance.

I waited so long to play the game because even though it’s hailed as one of the best games in the series, I can’t get over the fact that Steiner looks mad stupid. It’s hard to take the game seriously when the art style is so silly. Characters like Zidane and Garnet look perfectly fine but the Queen of Alexandria (Forgot her name) and Steiner just look absurd. I know the game is supposed to be a bit more light hearted than Final Fantasy 7 and 8, but still, these characters look so dumb.

On the positive side, I remember how awesome the music was in the game. The Final Fantasy 9 soundtrack is one of my favorites. Especially the track “The Place I’ll Return to Someday”. I actually think Nobuo Uematsu said at one point his favorite music in the series was from Final Fantasy 9, so at least I have that to look forward to.

Final Fantasy 9 should hopefully keep me occupied until Final Fantasy Versus 13 or Persona 5. I know i’m being a bit hopeful, as both of these RPGs are so far from release. In fact, neither even has an official release date yet, so I may have to wait a bit longer.

About Emor

I'm interested in Video games, Economics and Politics.
This entry was posted in Final Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

