Final Fantasy 8 is Under Rated


I Remember after finishing Final Fantasy 7 back when I was 12 or so, I was very eager to try the next installment in the series. After purchasing and playing Final Fantasy 8, I was a bit disappointed. I played it for a few hours and never figured out that after completing the SeeD ‘Test’ by defeating Ifrit with Quistis, I had to go back to my room as Squall to change into formal attire to progress the story. I ended up walking around the starting area for HOURS on end killing random encounters. I was like 11 or so at the time, so I didn’t think about searching Google for a guide. I don’t even know if GameFaqs existed back then. I ended up getting so powerful by grinding random encounters that I ended up pwning  that one tough T-rex enemy that was supposed to be really difficult. After killing random encounters for like 7 hours in the course of a week I told myself, “This game sucks” and threw Final Fantasy 8 on the shelf.

This Game Is So Under Rated!

It was only a year or so later that I decided to give the game another chance. This time I figured out how to advance the story. As the story progressed I became more and more interested in the game. Unfortunately, after being 10 or so hours into the game, Final Fantasy 8 just felt too difficult. I was getting destroyed in random encounters regularly. Boss Fighters felt impossible and I eventually quit the game again. My problem was that I didn’t know how the game’s draw system worked. I had no idea you could ‘equip’ the items obtained through drawing enemies. So I was 10 or so hours into the game and I didn’t equip one item. I obviously didn’t read the tutorials at the beginning. After all, who reads those?  I was using my starting sword and not one other item. Come to think of it, it was  quite an achievement to get as far as I did in Final Fantasy 8 without ever equipping an item or spell obtained through drawing. So again, Final Fantasy 8 was shelved.

Squall Was Emo, But Cool

Fast forward 6 years or so and I’m 17 years old. I’ve played Final Fantasy X and loved it. Itching for some more Final Fantasy, I wanted to give Final Fantasy 8 another chance. This time, I was a lot older and more competent. I owned Final Fantasy 8 for the Playstation 1, but wanted to play the game on my PC – so I downloaded an emulator and made a backup of my game and played it there. I did increase the game speed on occasion to make drawing faster, but I didn’t abuse quicksaving or anything like that. It’s remarkable how much easier Final Fantasy 8 is when you actually know how to play the game. Needless to say, I really enjoyed the game. The story was very interesting and everything was put together really well. I enjoyed FFX more, but Final Fantasy 8 is easily one of the most under rated Final Fantasy games ever. I actually liked it more than Final Fantasy 7, but I’m not going to compare the two. Both were great games, but I liked the story in Final Fantasy 8 more.

I couldn’t have been the only one to fail at figuring Final Fantasy 8 out. Was anyone else on the same boat as me? Post your comments below!

About Emor

I'm interested in Video games, Economics and Politics.
This entry was posted in Final Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

